subscribe to ENR magazine subscribe
contact us
careers industry jobs
events events
Dodge Data & Analytics
ENR Logo
Web access will be provided
as part of your subscription.
2008 Best of Awards

McGraw-Hill Construction is pleased to announce the winners of its first annual Best of the Best Awards. The competition recognizes construction and design excellence of the past year from across the U.S., choosing from the regional winners of McGraw-Hill Construction’s network of 11 Regional Publications’ Best of 2008 Awards.

An independent 13-member jury of construction professionals reviewed 225 regional winners, whittling them down to 70 national finalists before selecting 23 winners in categories ranging from best green building to best transportation project.

Each project was judged on a variety of criteria including innovation, contribution to the community, aesthetic quality and workmanship.

“The judges for our inaugural national awards were very impressed by the caliber of projects that were competing,” says Jan Tuchman, editor-in-chief of Engineering News-Record. “It’s important for our industry to celebrate the many positive achievements that were accomplished in 2008, especially during the current economic times.”

The winners will be profiled in the April 2009 issues of all 11 Regional Publications as well as in the March 9th issue of Engineering News-Record.


Meet the Judges
Thanks to our national panel of judges:
  • Wink Ames, Principal, Minard-Ames Insurances Services, Phoenix, Ariz.
    Principal with Minard-Ames Insurance Services. A second generation surety bonding agent and a construction industry insurance broker, he holds a civil engineering degree and has almost 50 years of industry experience.

  • Wayne Crew, Executive Director, Construction Industry Institute, Austin, Tex.
    Director of the Construction Industry Institute. Crew earlier worked for Technip USA Corp. and KBR and its predecessor companies. He is a registered professional engineer.

  • Jim Duncan, Chairman and Chief Engineer, Sparling, Seattle, Wash.
    Chairman and chief engineer of Sparling. A licensed professional engineer, he is also vice chair of the American Council of Engineering Companies.

  • Lauren Evans, president, Pinyon Environmental Engineering Resources, Lakewood, Colo.
    Founder and current president of Pinyon Environmental Engineering Resources. A licensed professional engineer with more than 26 years as an environmental consultant, she is currently president of ACEC Colorado.

  • Aleisha Jaeger, project manager, Opus North Corp., Indianapolis, Ind.
    Project manager, Opus North Corp. With the company for nine years, she works in the Indianapolis office, overseeing projects from proposal work through project completion.

  • Ken Levien, president, Levien & Co., New York, N.Y.
    President and founder of Levien & Co. He has 30 years of experience in project management, construction monitoring, and architecture and business management. He received his master’s of architecture from Washington University.

  • Diane Miller, vice president, Shaw Construction, Denver, Colo.
    Vice president of Shaw Construction. A Denver-based industry veteran, she is past president of Associated Builders and Contractors’ Colorado Rocky Mountain chapter.

  • Richard Sliwoski, director, Va. Department of General Services, Richmond, Va.
    Director of Virginia’s Dept. of General Services. A former officer with U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, his degrees include a master’s in civil engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute, an MBA from Xavier University and a master’s in national security and strategic studies from the Naval War College.

  • Tim Snyder, construction manager, The Trump Organization, Chicago, Ill.
    Construction manager for The Trump Organization. Snyder is overseeing the construction of Chicago’s 92-story Trump Tower. In construction since 1966, he has worked on projects with six Midwest contracting firms.

  • Tom Sofranko, interim dean, LSU School of Architecture, Baton Rouge, La.
    Professor of Architecture at Louisiana State University. Sofranko is also associate dean of the LSU College of Art & Design. Previously he served as the director of the School of Architecture. His teaching assignments primarily involve design studios at both the undergraduate and graduate level.

  • Matthew S. Stevens, president, Stevens Construction Institute, Winter Park, Fla.
    President of the Stevens Construction Institute. A construction industry veteran of 30 years, he has worked as both a general and specialty contractor. His upcoming book is titled “The Practical Construction MBA.”

  • Hans Van Winkle, president, program management group, Hill International, Marlton, N.J.
    resident of Hill International’s domestic project management operations. Prior to joining Hill, Van Winkle was the director of the Construction Industry Institute. He spent more than 30 years with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

  • Hraztan Zeitlian, vice president & director of design, Leo A Daly, Los Angeles, Calif.
    Vice president and director of design of the Los Angeles office of Leo A Daly. His work won two American Architecture national awards from the Chicago Athenaeum in 2006 and 2007 as well as an AIA LA Next LA Award in 2007. Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger appointed Zeitlian to the California Architects Board in 2008.

----- Advertising -----
ENR Top List Merchandise
Dodge Lead Center
Search for local construction projects OR CALL 877-234-4246 and get a FREE Lead Now!
Search by Project Type & State

----- Advertising -----