subscribe to ENR magazine subscribe
contact us
careers industry jobs
events events
Dodge Data & Analytics
ENR Logo
Web access will be provided
as part of your subscription.

National Academy of Construction Selects 2009 Inductees for Industry Contributions

Text size: A A

The National Academy of Construction (NAC), Austin, Texas, has elected 10 construction executives to become members in 2009, recognized for past and expected future contributions to the industry. NAC, founded in 1999, now has 110 members.

----- Advertising -----

The 2009 newly elected members are:

JOHN M. DIONISIO, CEO and president of AECOM, Los Angeles, for "exemplary leadership in advancing the state-of-the-art in project management of transportation sector projects."

RONALD J. GAFFORD, chairman, president and CEO of Austin Industries, Dallas, for his role as a "recognized leader" of a diverse group of companies and major contributions to professional and civic organizations.

G. WILLIAM GILFILLAN, a former top executive of several large heavy construction firms, "recognized for decades of solid leadership through his companies and premier construction industry organizations."

GEORGE T. HEERY, chairman and CEO of the Brookwood Group, Atlanta, and long time industry executive, cited as "an innovator and leader in design and development of the profession of construction management and program management."

MELISSA B. HERKT, president of process systems and solutions for Emerson Process Management, St. Louis, for her role "as an industry leader in project management as an owner, and in system development through her company and industry research organizations."

LEE A. McINTIRE CEO of CH2M Hill Cos., Denver, elected to NAC "for being a leader's leader in advancing the technology, business models and EPC project performance around the world."

ROBERT S. O'NEIL, former president and CEO of Parsons Transportation Group, and previously, of De Leuw, Cather and Co., "for exceptional leadership in advancing the effectiveness of project delivery in the transportation sector."

JOHN E. SCHAUFELBERGER, professor and chair of construction management at the University of Washington, Seattle, and retired Army Corps of Engineers officer, "for outstanding leadership as a professor and author of textbooks, who brings his many years of industry experience into academia."

MATTHEW M. WALSH, CEO of the Walsh Group Ltd., Chicago, for "leadership through his company in advancing major underground and transportation projects and through professional and academic organizations."

CLIFTON D. WRIGHT, former executive of 3D/International and retired US Air Force officer, "for advancement of project delivery methods in both the military and private sectors, as well as academic and research organizations."


----- Advertising -----
  Blogs: ENR Staff   Blogs: Other Voices  
Critical Path: ENR's editors and bloggers deliver their insights, opinions, cool-headed analysis and hot-headed rantings
Project Leads/Pulse

Gives readers a glimpse of who is planning and constructing some of the largest projects throughout the U.S. Much information for pulse is derived from McGraw-Hill Construction Dodge.

For more information on a project in Pulse that has a DR#, or for general information on Dodge products and services, please visit our Website at

Information is provided on construction projects in following stages in each issue of ENR: Planning, Contracts/Bids/Proposals and Bid/Proposal Dates.

View all Project Leads/Pulse »

 Reader Comments:

Sign in to Comment

To write a comment about this story, please sign in. If this is your first time commenting on this site, you will be required to fill out a brief registration form. Your public username will be the beginning of the email address that you enter into the form (everything before the @ symbol). Other than that, none of the information that you enter will be publically displayed.

We welcome comments from all points of view. Off-topic or abusive comments, however, will be removed at the editors’ discretion.